Grand Final Glory for Blacks

The Rebirth of the Bowral Rugby Club is complete after the Blacks heroic wins by 1st and 2nd Grade in summery conditions at WIN Stadium.

1st Grade won 34 – 18 over red hot favorites Avondale reversing reversed the Major Semi-Final result of two weeks ago to take their first IDRU title since 1999. The Blacks scored four tries to three, with IDRU Player of the Year, Lachlan Huntington producing another masterful display scoring fourteen points and guiding his side around the park with an expert kicking and passing display.

After a hard fought first forty minutes the match was very evenly poised at 13 all at the break but the Blacks finished the stronger of the two sides putting on three tries in the last twenty five minutes of the game.

With still fifteen minutes to play the match was still in the balance but the Blacks were appearing to be finishing the match the better as the Wombats saw errors creep into their game in the face of a stout Bowral defensive effort. Erin Blackshaw all but sealed Avondale’s fate when he crossed for his second try after a standard backline play. With another sideline conversion from Huntington the Blacks led 27 – 13 with ten to go.

Halfback Tim Small produced a clever kick in the closing moments of the match which produced a converted try for replacement winger Henry Yuill as the speedster outpaced several defenders to score the final try bringing up the 34 – 18 margin.

A spirited and committed effort from their outweighed forward pack laid the foundation for the victory. Todd Pearce led his young charges superbly showing by example just what was required to get the job done. His fellow forwards Tim Lewis in particular, along with Jack Parsons, Joshua Dick, Clancy Donan and Mitch Hardy were superb for the new Premiers. Halfback Tim Small was awarded the Geoff Shaw Medal for Best on Ground. Huntington was simply outstanding producing a performance to cap what has been a breakthrough year for the young Fly-Half.

2nd Grade took Campbelltown head on and came away with a 28 – 18 win. Dan Loader was awarded Player of the Grand Final.